RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Deep Purple – Live in Paris 1975
Ear Music

Rating: B+

Ear Music has really made Deep Purple history with the release of this amazing live show, recorded on April 17, 1975 in Paris, France.  For this was the very last concert that guitarist Ritchie Blackmore would play with this version of the band before leaving to form the group Rainbow. 

The two-disc set has been digitally remastered and remixed from the original multi-track tapes.  This brings the concert back to life in stunning audio glory. This live recording shuts up any critics who say the David Coverdale and Glenn Hughes DP was not a powerful, live band.  While this is not Made in Japan, it is a powerhouse of a live show. 

Mostly centered around the Coverdale/Hughes era Burn and Stormbringer, the band ram through the new tunes, including both album’s title tracks as well as “The Gypsy,” “Lady Double Dealer” and “You Fool No One.”  While it takes a tad getting used to, after a few spins this lineup grows on the listener concerning the classic tunes “Space Truckin’,” “Smoke On the Water” and “Highway Star.”  Coverdale totally owns “Mistreated” making the soulful song one of the highlights of the album. 

"Live In Paris 1975" track listing:
Disc 1:
01. Burn
02. Stormbringer
03. The Gypsy
04. Lady Double Dealer
05. Mistreated
06. Smoke On The Water
07. You Fool No One

Disc 2:
01. Space Truckin'
02. Going Down
03. Highway Star
04. Bonus 1975 interview with David Coverdale, Glenn Hughes and Ian Paice

By Jeb Wright