RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

The Prog Collective – Epilogue
Purple Pyramid Records


Rating for the Average Music Fan:  B

Rating for the Average Prog Nerd:    A+

Purple Pyramid, a division of Cleopatra Records has teamed up, once again, with Prog Master Musician Billy Sherwood for a humongous project that is so over the top with talent it deserves to be a Progressive Rock record.

The Prog Collective sees Sherwood writing nine amazing songs, of course, very Prog in nature, and then recording some of the genres most famous historical figures.  On this one individual album Sherwood has gathered Track 1.: Colin Moulding, Mel Collins, Steve Hillage, Rick Wakeman, John Wetton, Derek Sherinian, John Wesley, Fee Waybill, Jordan Rudess, Steve Morse, Peter Banks, Larry Fast, Sonja Kristina, Chris Squire , Patrick Moraz,  Alan Parsons, Steve Stevens, Geoff Downes, Nik Turner, Roye Albrighton, Allan Holdsworth, Gary Green, Tony Kaye, William Shatner and Jim Cuomo.

And each of the nine songs mix together to make a great Progressive soup that is both fresh, and harkens back to the good days when Prog wasn’t a dirty word.  Often times album with numerous guests can convolute the situation, making the music lose any sense of identity.  Sherwood was careful to make sure that the songs stood on their own and that the guests were spices and the extra something special to make this musical soup have great flavor.

The Prog Collective is truly a situation where the sum of all the parts really all make up the whole.  This is a real album that is best listened to all nine tracks at a time.  And when you finally are at  your wits end being bombarded with such bombastic and grand music, along comes Captain Kirk and his unique voice with a spoken word song that leaves you with a smile on your face.

This is a true collective; a force where all coming together makes one solid, unmovable object.

Track Listing

01. Are We To Believe 7:19
02. What Can Be Done 7:48
03. Adding Fuel to the Fire 7:30
04. Tomorrow Becomes Today 7:34
05. Shining Diamonds 7:53
06. In Our Time 7:22
07. Memory Tracks 7:58
08. Just Another Day 9:01
09. Epilogue 2:28

By Jeb Wright