RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Ted Nugent – Ultralive Ballisticrock
Frontiers Records

Rating: B

Ted Nugent is back with yet another live slab of rock and roll that is rumored  will make a chicken lay an egg within in a four mile radius when cranked up to 11.  Yep, Uncle Teddy is back with another double heaping, in concert, release featuring all the tunes, and guitar solos his fans have come to love and expect from him. 

The album was recorded on August 14, 2011 at Penn’s Peak in Pennsylvania and features vocalist and rhythm guitarist Derek St. Holmes, back with Nugent for the first time in years.  St. Holmes was the original vocalist and guitarist for the Nuge way back on the Ted Nugent album.  His vocals skills are still outstanding and his guitar playing is impressive. 

As good as Derek is, however, Nugent is the reason people will be buying this one.  And they won’t be disappointed, as Ted can still jam out his tunes with stunning ferocity.

Sure, the naysayer will go, “Another live album? Do something new Ted. Quit wasting our time with more of the same.”  This writer simply replies to that sort of whining nonsense with a quick, and loud, “Fuck you.” 

For starters, new tunes are on the way and how in the hell can ANYONE get tired of Ted Nugent live in concert blasting out “Free for All,” Stormtroopin’,” “Wango Tango,” “Just What the Doctor Ordered,” “Need You Bad,” “Fred Bear,” “Cat Scratch Fever,” “Motorcity Madhouse,” “Stranglehold” and “Great White Buffalo.” 

The album contains the sweatiest and stickiest rock and roll stains to ever be left by the Nuge, 16 songs in all, and is available in three versions, including a two-disc-one-DVD set and a DVD/Blu-ray. 

“To be surrounded by such world-class passionate virtuosos is every musician’s dream,” Nugent says in a press release announcing the album. “And I live it every song, every concert, every night, every lick, every tsunami of soul sweat.”

You know what this one has in store for you, so buy, it crank it up and hope that next year we get another live album…and a new studio release from the craziest sober person in America!  What could be better? 

Ted Nugent’s ‘Ultralive Ballisticrock’ Track Listing

1. Free for All
2. Stormtroopin
3. Wango Tango
4. Just What the Doctor Ordered
5. Wang Dang Sweet Poontang
6. Need You Bad
7. Turn It Up
8. Raw Dogs & War Hogs
9. Dog Eat Dog
10. Hey Baby
11. Fred Bear
12. I Still Believe
13. Motorcity Madhouse
14. Cat Scratch Fever
15. Stranglehold
16. Great White Buffalo

By Jeb Wright