RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Alice Cooper – Billion Dollar Babies
Audio Fidelity


Rating: A

Audio Fidelity continues to raise the bar when it comes to taking classic albums and making them sound better than ever before.  This time around they gave the re-mastering treatment to the Godfather of Shock Rock, Alice Cooper and the seminal album Billion Dollar Babies.

Never before has being scared sounded so good.  This one is creepy, eerie, funny, schmaltzy, silly and loud!  With Billion Dollar Babies the Alice Cooper Group and producer Bob Ezrin took their special brand of music and perfected it.  The songs, the following tour and the fame that came from this album took this band, and their iconic vocalist, to new heights.

Not only did Audio Fidelity do a fine job with the music, they realized they were messing with a classic.  Not only did this one have to sound fantastic, it had to still have the sprit, the attitude and the emotion of the original.  This is a landmark album that changed the world of hard rock forever.

“Sick Things” and “I Love the Dead” really are scary songs.  The lyrics match the haunting music and make the listener feel as if they are watching a horror movie.

Other songs such as “Hello Hooray” and “Generation Landslide” mix hard rock and roll with a Broadway musical.  The best songs, however, the ones that perfected the Alice Cooper experience, rock hard and loud and included “Billion Dollar Babies, “Elected” and “No More Mr. Nice Guy.”

If you have the old CD version then throw it away and get this one.  Not only does it sound superior it also comes with a classic Alice Cooper Group Billion Dollar Bill!

1. Hello Hooray  
2. Raped and Freezin'
3. Elected
4. Billion Dollar Babies
5. Unfinished Sweet
6. No More Mr. Nice Guy
7. Generation Landslide
8. Sick Things
9. Mary-Ann
10.I Love the Dead

By Jeb Wright