RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Robben Ford - Into the Sun
Provogue Records

Rating: B+

When a five time Grammy nominee says his latest album is “one of the top recordings I’ve ever done," then one may want to sit up and listen!

Ford is not shy in touting the album's praises, "The album is really upbeat and it has a positive vibe to it — a good-time feel. There are a lot of different rhythms and colors, and the way the instruments are used is really different on this. It makes me very happy to have something so diverse.” 

Diverse indeed!  Robben wanted to stretch out from traditional blues and incorporate other sounds and styles, so he invited some friends to help him out.  Happy to lend a hand, were Keb’ Mo’, vocalist ZZ Ward, and guitarists Warren Haynes, Sonny Landreth, Robert Randolph and Tyler Bryant.

The best songs on the album are "Justified," that Robert Randolph is a joy to listen to, and "So Long 4 U" featuring Sonny Landreth.  Of course, in typical Robben Ford style, there is no such thing as a bad song--not even close.  This is a complete album with plenty of light and shade in the songwriting that create moods, ranging from from happy to mellow.  Throw in plenty of red hot guitar licks and you have a most interesting listening experience.   

“For me,” Ford says, “It’s all about the art. If you work hard at something you’re going to get better. I honestly think I reached a point with my writing on Into The Sun where I could just go with the flow and bring some of the best songs I’ve ever created to life.”

Too often we get caught up in the rat race of our daily lives and fail to live in the moment. Great music comes and goes without us taking the time to even notice.  In this case, my advice is to slow down a second, take a breath and notice Robben Ford. 

This one was made for driving in the car with the windows down and the radio up!



1. Rose Of Sharon
2. Day Of The Planets
3. Howlin’ At The Moon
4. Rainbow Cover
5. Justified (with Keb’ Mo’ & Robert Randolph)
6. Breath Of Me (with ZZ Ward)
7. High Heels And Throwing Things (with Warren Haynes)
8. Cause Of War
9. So Long 4 U (with Sonny Landreth)
10. Same Train
11. Stone Cold Heaven (with Tyler Bryant)

By Jeb Wright