RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Devil City Angels - Devil City Angels  
Century City Records


Rating   A

The Devil City Angels are a new supergroup consisting of guitarist Tracii Guns (L.A. Guns), drummer Rikki Rockett (Poison), bassist Rudy Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Ozzy Osbourne & Whitesnake) and vocalist and rhythm guitarist Brandon Gibbs (Cheap Thrill).

After hearing this CD all I have to say is ‘WOW!’  It`s refreshing to hear a group that has both the confidence and ability to make a great straight-ahead rock and roll album in 2015!  Why does this work?  Easy.  The chemistry of this band is on fire.  This album has everything you could want, from bluesy licks, to seventies grooves, to eighties heavy rock... all mixed in with a taste of pop music!  The result is a unique yet familiar sound, one that has you on the edge of your seat the entire time.  

The first track, "Numb" is nothing but big grooves, big attitude, hard hitting vocals and some of Tracii Guns most kick-ass guitar riffs.  This sort of rock and roll stew makes this one killer rock ‘n’ roll song!  As good as that one is, the next track "All My People" has quickly become one of my favorite songs on the album. This song starts out with a killer guitar groove and then just slaps you in the face.  It’s hard, heavy and gets your adrenaline pumping all the way to the end.

Other great tracks include "Boneyard," "I`m Living" and "All I Need." Each of these songs make you want to sing along to them.  They have great beats, great guitar riffs and Brandon Gibbs’ vocals are dead-on.  He may be the least known member of the band but trust me, this guy can sing!  These songs take me back to when music was fun and that was all you needed to have a good time.

"Goodbye Forever" is the slower track on the album, but it is honestly one of those tracks that needs to be on here to make the album complete. And then to finish up the album, you have the track "Bad Decisions," which is one of those songs that starts off with a bad-ass bass and drum intro, just begging for Brandon Gibbs vocals and Tracii`s guitar.  When the vox and licks kick in, you have a great rock song that takes off and rips you a new one.

As a whole, the Devil City Angels are pretty darn impressive from start to finish. This album is definitely worth your time and money.  Most importantly, this album lets you know that rock is not dead: its alive and kickin` ass in Devil City!

My recommendation?  Play this one loud and often!

Track Listing:
1  Numb
2  All My People
3  Boneyard
4  I`m Living
5  No Angels
6  Goodbye Forever
7  Ride With Me
8. All I Need
9  Back To The Drive
10  Bad Decisions

By James Rozell