RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Aerosmith - Aerosmith Rocks Donington 2014 
Eagle Rock Entertainment


Rating: A

Aerosmith can be one of those bands that you either love or hate. Often times the old school fans and the new school fans disagree over which version is better... but now, with this release, all Aerosmith fans will be quite happy with this live triple disc set (the third disc is a Blu-ray disc or DVD of the live show.)
The first time I got to see Aerosmith live was on the Rock in a Hard Place tour in 1982 and they blew the roof off the place. Over the years since, I have seen them many times, some good and some not so good, but on this disc they are at their best and put on one hell of a show.

Disc One is a pretty good...  It starts out with a great tune "Train Kept A-Rollin’," where you get to hear the classic Joe Perry guitar riffs and Steven Tyler’s one-of-a-kind voice hitting all the high notes dead-on... but after that, Disc 1 is full of the hits from the ‘80s and ‘90s, like ”Love In An Elevator,” “Cryin’,” “Livin’ On The Edge” and “Janie’s Got A Gun.” Don’t get me wrong, I like these songs and the band does a great job playing them live, but it’s the ‘70s classic Aerosmith that will always define this band.

Disc two is full of all the great classic Aerosmith; This disc starts out with "Toys In The Attic" where Joe Perry’s guitar playing is on fire and then Tyler comes in with his trademark vocals... and they just nail it. The next classic is a Beatles tune, "Come Together," but Aerosmith has made it their own over the years.  I love Joey Kramer`s drumming on this song; to me, he is one of rocks greatest drummers.  Then you have "Walk This Way" where the whole band is dead-on from start to finish. But it’s the track "Dream On" that is my favorite track on this disc... I have always loved this song, but this particular live version is the best I have ever heard the band sound.  Steven Tyler’s vocals are so dead-on, the tune gave me chills; when he wants to give it his all, he still can! And then you get the classic "Sweet Emotion"  where you get some of Tom Hamilton’s killer and best bass riffs on the disc, and Joe Perry’s guitar riffs don’t seem to stop either. The whole band is just tearing it up, like it’s the last time they are going to get to play them live!

Over-all, this is a really great live album and is worth picking up.

Track Listing:
Disc One:

1 Train Kept A-Rollin’
2 Eat The Rich
3 Love In An Elevator
4 Cryin’
5 Jaded
6 Livin’ On The Edge
7 Last Child
8 Freedom Fighter
9 Same Old Song And Dance
10 Janie’s Got A Gun

Disc Two:
1 Toys In The Attic
2 I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing
3 No More No More
4 Come Together
5 Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
6 Walk This Way
7 Dream On
8 Sweet Emotion
9 Mama Kin

By James Rozell