RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Eric Clapton – Slowhand at 70 Live at the Royal Albert Hall
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: A

How tough of a job is it to rate and review an Eric Clapton live album/Blu-Ray release?  The answer is: not hard at all.

I mean, I could tell you it is great, and you would believe me... but... I went the extra mile, and opened the cover and watched it.... wow!

Slowhand continues to get classier every time he takes the stage.  Eagle Rock Entertainment has released this new, live Clapton concert; this disc is as special as it is delightful.

This concert was recorded and filmed to celebrate Eric’s 70th birthday.  The concert is available on DVD, Blu-ray, DVD+2CD set, DVD+3LP set and in a Deluxe Edition.  The birthday celebration is a happy occasion, and Clapton pulls out a great set that includes some of his most known songs like “Cocaine,” “I Shot The Sheriff,” “Layla,” ”Wonderful Tonight,” “Crossroads,” “Tears In Heaven,” “Hoochie Coochie Man” and “Can’t Find My Way Home.”  In addition Clapton pays homage to his deceased friend Joe Cocker with a stunning version of “You Are So Beautiful” featuring the amazing Paul Carrack on vocals.

The deluxe edition is the way to go here if you’re a big Clapton fan, as you get the DVD and two CDs as well as a bonus DVD of Clapton playing in the same venue over the years, including the Cream Farewell tour from 1968.  Other landmark concerts and goodies from the deluxe edition include the Journeyman tour from 1990, a UN Benefit Concert performance with Zucchero from 2004, the Cream Reunion shows from 2005 and a Prince’s Trust Benefit performance from 2010, all packaged in a 12”x12” 60 page hardback photobook.

Clapton at 70 years of age… wow, how time flies.  Eric looks, plays and acts like a man half his age.  In fact, this one is so damn good I can’t wait for his birthday concert releases for Clapton at 80, 90 and even 100! 

Long live Slowhand!

Eric Clapton: Slowhand At 70 – Track List
1) Somebody’s Knockin’ On My Door
2) Key To The Highway
3) Tell The Truth
4) Pretending
5) Hoochie Coochie Man
6) You Are So Beautiful
7) Can’t Find My Way Home
8) I Shot The Sheriff
9) Driftin’ Blues
10) Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
11) Tears In Heaven
12) Layla
13) Let It Rain
14) Wonderful Tonight
15) Crossroads
16) Cocaine
17) High Time We Went

Jeb “She Don’t Lie” Wright