RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Foreigner – In Concert. Unplugged
Trigger Productions


Rating: B-

On August 24, 2015 rock icons Foreigner rolled into Detroit, Michigan and took the stage at the Ford Motor Company Conference & Event Center and recorded a set of their biggest hits... done-up acoustically.  The band is donating all artist royalties to the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, making this a great night of music for a good cause.

The band unplugged and got right down to peforming ‘the big ones’ right out of the box, as “Double Vision” opens the set followed by one of their most well-known songs, “Say You Will.”  The monster balled “Waiting for a Girl Like You” follows.  The band reaches deep into their catalog with “Fool For You Anyway” before ending the night with the massive hits “Dirty White Boy,” “Cold As Ice,” “Feels Like the First Time,” “Juke Box Hero,” “I Want to Know What Live Is” and “Hot Blooded.”

The rockers sound pretty good for the most part unplugged, though the overall energy of some of the tracks are kind of missing that spark at times.  For example, “Feels Like the First Time” opens with that well-known riff, but it is so... plain.  I know, I know… it’s an acoustic show… but still.  What a wimpy little riff when heard all naked and such!  “Dirty White Boy” suffers from losing its rock ‘n’ roll edge as well.  Other rockers like “Cold As Ice” come across well, as the vocal round is really in one’s face with no outboard studio effects getting in the way! 

this is a good show overall, and it would be fun to catch the band doing the show au naturel !  For the record, I like ‘em better loud, but this is a damn fine band. And the sound of the concert is really good.  This approach is a nice change of pace and a must-own for any Foreigner Aficionado!

foreigner is Mick Jones (lead guitar, vocals), Kelly Hansen (lead vocals), Jeff Pilson (bass, vocals), Tom Gimbel (rhythm guitar, sax, flute, vocals), Michael Bluestein (keyboards,vocals),  Bruce Watson (guitar, vocals) and Chris Frazier (drums).

Track Listing:
1. Double Vision
2. Say You Will
3. Waiting For A Girl Like You
4. When It Comes To Love
5. Fool For You Anyway
6. Dirty White Boy
7. Cold As ice
8. Feels Like The First Time
9. Juke Box Hero
10. I Want To Know What Love Is
11. Hot Blooded (bonus track)

By Jeb “Dirty White Boy” Wright