RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Scorpions – Live in Munich 2012
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: B+

The Scorpions are the latest band to retire and un-retire again.  They, as their songs says, can’t get enough of the rock ‘n’ roll life and continue to carry on, despite hanging it up!

This concert, never before released, was recorded in Munich in 2012 as the last gig of the internationally successful Sting in the Tail Tour.  The band was, as usual, on fire.  They look cool, they act cool, they have cool songs and vocalist Klaus Meine has a cool voice… even if that little ‘kick thing’ he does on stage is not so cool.  That’s what makes the band what they are: The Scorpions never fit into a mold.  They rock to their own beat.  They created their special sting, and they stung and rocked the world for 50 years.

This concert is massive. The crowd is huge.  The set list is stellar.  Rudolf Schenker and Matthias Jabs are rock stars on guitar the entire night.  When they play acoustic parts, they brandish acoustic guitars that look just like their electric axes! Visual cool-ness!  The band takes it over the top with a giant stage and a top-notch light show. Keep in mind, it is not the entertainment value, the over the top visual spectacle, or even the awesomeness of the crowd that makes this a great show...  It is the songs.

Look at the tracks that this band pumped out!  There are 20 songs from all eras of the band’s history, including the early days with “We’ll Burn the Sky.”  The amazing album Lovedrive is represented with “Is There Anybody There?,” “Coast to Coast,” “Loving You Sunday Morning” and “Holiday.”  “Make It Real” and “The Zoo” appear from Animal Magnetism and “Blackout” and “No One Like You” are played from the album Blackout.  New tunes “Sting in the Tail” and “The Best is Yet to Come” show the band can still write that ‘Scorpions music’ as good as ever, while the hit machine is cranked up with “Rock You Like a Hurricane,” “Wind of Change,” “Tease Me Please Me,” “Hit Between the Eyes,” “Still Loving You” and ”Big City Nights.”  Blackout’s “When the Smoke is Coming Down” ends the amazing set of music.

The Scorpions are a unique band that has stood the test of time, and they likely always will, as they never chased a sound and they never emulated anyone else.  They are who they are, and they do it how they do it.  In Munich, in 2012, what they did is pretty damn good!

This is a great set by a great band that will beckon for you to play this disc again and again.

Track listing:
01. Sting In The Tail
02. Make It Real
03. Is There Anybody There?
04. The Zoo
05. Coast To Coast
06. Loving You Sunday Morning
07. We'll Burn The Sky
08. The Best Is Yet To Come
09. Send Me An Angel
10. Holiday
11. Raised On Rock
12. Tease Me Please Me
13. Hit Between The Eyes
14. Kottak Attack
15. Blackout
16. Big City Nights
17. Still Loving You
18. Wind Of Change
19. No One Like You
20. Rock You Like A Hurricane
21. When The Smoke Is Going Down

By Jeb “Rock You Like a Cool Breeze” Wright