RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Judas Priest – Turbo 30 (Remastered 30th Anniversary Edition)
Legacy Recordings

Rating: B

The 1980s were the decade of Metal and Judas Priest were the Metal Gods.  When it came time to release their tenth album, Turbo, in 1986, their hardcore fan base were faced with a choice.  This was not the same type of album as Screaming for Vengeance or British Steel

Metal bands were beginning to lighten their sound and have massive commercial success, something that the genre was not used to having. Priest did not, as some claim, sell-out with Turbo as they attempted to keep up with the ever changing times.  This was nothing new, as they had done the same thing a few years previous with incredible Point of Entry.  Turbo was a bit more ‘out there’ than Point, however, and some fans were reluctant to see Priest trying to fit in with the times instead of staying with their Metal roots—roots they were a huge part of defining.  The result was perhaps the most controversial record of Judas Priest’s amazing career. 

The music sounded different as guitarists Glenn Tipton and K.K. Downing were using new-fangled pedal boards that created different sounds.  The lyrical themes of the songs were different as well.  “Hot For Love” and “Turbo Lover” were a far cry from “The Green Manalishi (With the Two Pronged Crown)” and “Victim of Changes.”  “Private Property” featured big vocal shouting choruses that were more in line with Def Leppard than with Priest.  “Parental Guidance” was topical as the band had been attacked by the Parents Music Resource Center (PMRC) fronted by Tipper Gore for their song “Eat me Alive.” 

Despite being different, the synth-driven metal of Turbo went Platinum in 1987 and “Turbo Lover” was a hit song on MTV.  The fact that this was so controversial makes it perfect fodder for an anniversary release. While it is hard to conceive that we’ve whittled away almost 11,000 days since this sucker first hit record store shelves, the fact is accurate.  The album will be released as a special 30th Anniversary edition on February 3rd with new artwork, remastered sounds, bonus tracks and a fabulous two-disc previously unreleased live concert from Kemper Arena in Kansas City.  The live set was recorded during the bands Fuel for Life tour following Turbo’s initial release. 

The album has some very rockin’ moments including “Turbo Lover,” “Rock You All Around the World” and “Wild Nights, Hot & Crazy Days.”  The attempt at being current is obvious, and possibly could be considered a mistake.  At the end of the day, however, the band and their fans are still talking about this one of a kind Priest release, so the band must have done something right.  Plus, the addition of the previously unreleased live concert makes this a must-own item.  In addition to the then new songs from Turbo, the set list for the show on the included double live CD is kick ass.  The live version of “Heading Out to the Highway” is much stronger than any other live release to date.  “The Hellion,” “Electric Eye,” “Freewheel Burning,” “Victim of Changes,” “The Green Manalishi (With the Two Pronged Crown),” “Living After Midnight,” “You've Got Another Thing Coming,” “Hell Bent for Leather,” “Metal Gods” and “Breaking The Law” demonstrated that Priest was still 100% at the top of their game.

At the end of the day, this is an extremely cool release.  The band was very involved in every aspect of the production; this is important to the members of Judas Priest as they realize this is their legacy, but it is also the soundtrack to their fan’s lives. 

The 30th anniversary Turbo reissue will be available via digital download as well as a triple-compact disc physical package and a one-LP 150-gram vinyl version.

Turbo… there really is no other like it!  Crank this one up again and party like you’re right back in those wild nights, and hot and crazy daze…err…days, I mean!

Preorder the 30th Anniversary edition of Turbo here: https://judaspriest.shopfirebrand.com

Disc 1: Turbo:
01. Turbo Lover
02. Locked In
03. Private Property
04. Parental Guidance
05. Rock You All Around The World
06. Out In The Cold
07. Wild Nights, Hot & Crazy Days
08. Hot For Love
09. Reckless

Disc 2: Live at the Kemper Arena, Kansas City:
01. Out In The Cold
02. Locked In
03. Heading Out To The Highway
04. Metal Gods
05. Breaking The Law
06. Love Bites
07. Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
08. The Sentinel
09. Private Property
10. Desert Plains
11. Rock You All Around the World

Disc 3: Live at the Kemper Arena, Kansas City:
01. The Hellion
02. Electric Eye
03. Turbo Lover
04. Freewheel Burning
05. Victim of Changes
06. The Green Manalishi (With the Two Pronged Crown)
07. Living After Midnight
08. You've Got Another Thing Coming
09. Hell Bent for Leather

By Jeb “There’s No Other” Wright