RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Def Leppard – And There Will Be A Next Time... Live From Detroit
Eagle Rock Entertainment

Rating: B

One of the simple truths in life is that Def Leppard fans love seeing Def Leppard perform live in concert.  Another truth is that the members of Def Leppard love performing for them.  In this day and age, a live performance by Lep is a perfect mix of fun songs, a great lightshow, a huge stage, killer guitars mixed with vocal harmonies recreating a slab of classic tunes that make one want to return to the 1980s! 

In 2016 , the band rolled into one of America’s most famous rock ‘n’ roll cities –Detroit- and filmed while recording their massive set.  The set list is heavy on the album’s Hysteria and Pyromania, as it well should be.  These are hits the average Leppard fan wants to hear over and over again.  The hardcore base is split between two factions… those that want to hear the new stuff (they were treated to two new ones, “Let’s Go” and “Dangerous”) and those that want to hear the first two albums, On Through the Night and High N’ Dry in their entirety.  The latter got a couple of songs from High and that’s all.  Let’s face it, the band is going to inadvertently keep ignoring that era as much as they can as there is only so much material you can cover, although the two tracks they did pick, “Let It Go” and “Bringin’ on the Heartbreak” totally rocked!   The band believes in giving the people what they want, and that time-tested strategy works as the fans keep coming back every year and snap up tickets as soon as they go on sale.  Songs like “Pour Some Sugar On Me,” “Photograph,” “Rock of Ages,” “Animal,” “Love Bites” and “Hysteria” are just damn good tunes custom made for the sing-along arena rock crowd. 

Joe Elliot is a fine front man and he handles the lead vocals capably, while Phil Collen, Rick Savage and Viv Campbell cover the high notes extremely well (with or without any added technology).  Instrumentally, the band performs proficiently and is amazing to watch. At the end of the day, this is a perfect representation of a band that still kicks butt live.  They have the look, the songs, the enthusiastic crowd, the showmanship and the cool ass video and light presentation to keep going on for as long as they want.

Detroit earned their ‘rock city’ name on this night.   Def Lep, while they could have snuck in “Wasted” or “Hello America” are running like a finely oiled rock ‘n’ roll machine.

Get this one!  DVD+2 CDs (3 discs total) OR BluRay + 2 CDs (3 discs total) and also check out the band and crew interviews.

One word of warning: This show may make ya want to poof your hair or grow a mullet!  AquaNet not included... prepare in advance. Other than that, it is a wonderful blast from the past, as well as a rocket into the future of this great band. 

Track List:
Disc 1:
 1.) Let’s Go
  2.) Animal
  3.) Let It Go 
 4.) Dangerous
  5.) Foolin’
  6.) Love Bites  7.) Armaggeddon It
  8.) Rock On
  9.) Man Enough

Disc 2: 
1.) Rocket 
 2.) Bringin’ On The Heartbreak
  3.) Switch 625 
 4.) Medley: Hysteria / Heroes  
5.) Let’s Get Rocked
  6.) Pour Some Sugar On Me
  7.) Rock of Ages 
 8.) Photograph

By Jeb “Rocket” Wright