RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Quiet Riot  - Road Rage
Frontiers Records

Rating B

When founding member Kevin DuBrow died in 2007 it seemed Quiet Riot would die with him.   Metal Health era drummer Frankie Banali had other ideas.  With his best friends memory held in high regard Frankie kept the QR heart beating.  Banali soldered on through several lineup changes looking for the right mix.  In 2017 he found it! Quiet Riot recently released the album Road Rage.

This is without a doubt their strongest album since the Dubrow led Rehab released in 2006.  Banali is not the only link left to that classic lineup, however. Bassist Chuck Wright has been in and out of the band since 1982. He even performed on a couple tracks on the iconic album Metal Health.

Rounding out QR 2017 is guitarist Alex Grossi and vocalist James Durbin; the same James Durbin that was a big part of season ten of American Idol. James is such a big deal that the band held the release of this album back so they could add his vocals and melodies to the mix. These additions have yielded good results.

I was pleasantly surprised with this release. The production is clean. The guitars have a bluesy sound…yet they still have bite.  The bass groove is in the pocket and the drums are solid. As for the vocals…Durbin is not Kevin DuBrow…but he’s not trying to be. In fact, the young singer really established his identity on a number of tracks on the album.

Road Rage opens with “Can’t Get Enough” followed by the track “Getaway.” Both are good tunes but it is the third track “Roll This Jointthat caught my attention. This tune has enough bluesy swagger to shake the asses off of the masses! “The Road” is the obligatory power ballad while Freak Flag,” “Still Wildand “Renegades are all rocking enough to silence the harshest of skeptics.

I didn’t know what to expect of this album upon my first listen. In fact, I was kind of worried.  I wanted it to be good but was worried it would not be.  I am happy to report that repeated listens have brought more to my attention and appreciation. This is a solid rock album. 

Some would say this is even a new band.  I would have to agree.  Let’s face it…Quiet Riot is a strong brand name with marketability.  Adding alumni from American Idol was genius.  Whatever they are doing is working as Road Rage proves.  There is a lot of fuel left in the tank with this lineup.  Hopefully this is just the beginning of what will be a long…and loud ride. 

1. Can’t Get Enough
2. Getaway
3. Roll This Joint
4. Freak Flag
5. Wasted
6. Still Wild
7. Make a Way
8. Renegades
9. The Road
10. Shame
11. Knock em Down

By Jay Horrocks Jr.