RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

U2 – Songs of Experience
Interscope Records

Rating: C

U2 has been traveling around the country playing their 1987 classic album The Joshua Tree in its entirety. That is the coolest thing they’ve done in decades.

Now, they have released a new album titled Songs of Experience, which is the coolest recording they’ve made in many years. In fact, it is much cooler than that crappy 2014 monstrosity we are still stuck with on our iPhones called Songs of Innocence. That one sucked so back I was worried they may have actually forgotten how to write music!

Perhaps playing The Joshua Tree every night reminded Bono of a time when he was not a social justice icon and a was, instead, a real human being. Maybe not. Either way…Songs of Experience as they say…doesn’t suck!

Look…this is not The Joshua Tree. There will only be one of those. This isn’t even Achtung Baby but, all in all, it is a solid outing.

Bono is still pretentious as hell as he is calling the new album something like a social commentary from a public figure.

Geez Bono…take off those stupid looking glasses and just write songs. We don’t need you to save the world…just save music…okay?

Maybe that is just me being a dick but I prefer my music to be music without an agenda. And if you can tune out his insistent preaching…there are some damn fine songs mixed in with between some boring drivel. “Love is All We Have Left” and “You’re the Best Thing About Me” are really excellent songs.

Many tunes off of the new album will remind old school U2 fans of a better time. But…as with most of those who worship Bono and Club U2…you know the type…old dudes with man buns…people who drink coffee drinks I can’t pronounce and those who would NEVER think of voting for Donald Trump…they will worship this album like it is The Unforgettable Fire.

And that’s okay by me. Everyone needs something to believe in.

The good news is that Songs of Experience is a solid C, which for a band like U2 in 2017… a band that produced a ton of crapola after a streak of 1980s brilliance, has still got what it takes…at least some of the time.

I know… I know… I’m a total hack and a huge dick for refusing to swing off Bono’s balls.

So be it.

The truth is that this is an okay U2 album.

It will have to do.

Songs of Experience track list

1. "Love Is All We Have Left"
2. "Lights of Home'  
3. "You’re The Best Thing About Me"
4. "Get Out of Your Own Way" featuring Kendrick Lamar
5. "American Soul"
6. "Summer of Love"
7. "Red Flag Day"
8. "The Showman (Little More Better)"
9. "The Little Things That Give You Away"
10. "Landlady"
11. "The Blackout"
12. "Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way"
13. "13 (There is a Light)"

By Jeb “Trip Through Your Wires” Wright