RATINGS: A = must own B = buy it C= average D = yawn F = puke

Snakecharmer – Snakecharmer
Frontiers Records

Rating: B+

Original Whitesnake members Micky Moody and Neil Murray have teamed up to form the band Snakecharmer.  Joining them are ex-Wishbone Ash guitarist Laurie Wisefiield, ex-Thunder drummer Harry James, son of keyboard icon Rick Wakeman, Adam Wakeman and vocalist Chris Ousey. 

The band are all vets of the hard rock scene and have put together 11 songs that are reminiscent of the classic sounds of Bad Company, Foreigner and, of course, early Whitesnake. 

While Snakecharmer are not re-inventing the wheel, they are concentrating on making classic rock that is every bit as good as they have done in the past.  And that is saying a lot considering that these guys have written and played on some amazing songs in the past.

The band is full of straight ahead, balls to the wall guitar riffs, Hammond solos, twin-lead guitars and powerful rhythms, all anchored by a vocalist who definitely paid attention to David Coverdale and Paul Rodgers when cutting his rock and roll teeth.

“My Angel” and “Accident Prone” two are melodic gems that would have been MTV staples back in the day.  “To the Rescue” introduces the bluesy side, as Moody pushes the song forward with a slinky rhythm.  “Falling Leaves” starts out reminiscent of the Scorpions’ “Still Loving You” before kicking into a solid power ballad.  “A Little Rock and Roll” is another riff oriented tune that will have your toes a-tapping, while “Turn of the Screw” is, musically, one of the best on the CD and contains some tasty guitar playing.  “Stand Up” sounds like it could have been on the debut album by Foreigner.  “Guilty As Charged” is another hard rocker.  In fact, there is not a bad song on this sucker.  Start to finish this is a great shot in the arm for rock and roll.

The album will light a fire under any fan of melodic, hard rock.  Moody, Murray and company are doing their all to keep the flame lit for rock fans around the world.   Crank this one up to 11.

Snakecharmer Track Listing

1. My Angel
2. Accident Prone
3. To The Rescue
4. Falling Leaves
5. A Little Rock & Roll
6. Turn Of The Screw
7. Smoking Gun
8. Stand Up
9. Guilty As Charged
10. Nothing To Lose
11. Cover Me In You

By Jeb Wright